slothtrop record releases

Poor Man's Bible

Mike June

The term Poor Man's Bible has come to describe works of art which either individually or collectively illustrate the teachings of the Bible for a largely illiterate population. Mike June's latest release has the same effect, illuminating the heart and soul of the workingman. Relentlessly touring while staying true to his "door to door salesman" ethic, June carries on the traditions of Woody Guthrie and Phil Ochs as a modern day troubadour. Two Parts Springsteen and one part Joe Strummer, Mike June is blazing a trail through Americana's Mann Gulch. We LOVE this record and know you will too.

Produced and mixed by Mark Addison
Recorded at Aerie Studios, Austin, TX
Additional recording at Ed's Mom's, Wayne, NJ
Released in September of 2016
Release Number - 8675-500
UPC - 190394212049

Mike June- vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, banjo, chains
Mark Addison – organ, synth, slide guitar, lead on “The Baseball Song”
Naj Conklin- electric and upright bass
  Brian Mendes- drums and percussion
Ed Fritz – piano, accordion, organ on “Cotton Fields”
Jon Dee Graham- lead guitar on “San Antone” and “The Darkness”, lap steel

Jess Klein- backing vocals
Jaimee Harris- backing vocals
Wendy Colonna – backing vocals on “The Darkness”

1. Let It Go
2. Working In Vain
3. Cotton Fields
4. Poor Man’s Bible
5. San Antone
6. The Darkness
7. Jon Dee’s Blues
8. The Baseball Song
9. God Gave Up
10. Fall From Grace
11. The Darkness (radio edit)